Batiks, batiks!

I haven’t met a batik yet that I didn’t love. They are just gorgeous, and if you’ve ever wondered what goes into making batik fabric, check out this cool slideshow that I just found today from Robert Kaufman (for their Artisan Batiks line):

Tour the Lunn Studios Batik-Making Process

Batiks in Costa Rica are few and far between. You certainly won’t find them at the “old bolts” store (as I like to call my favorite shop that specializes in unsold fabric bolts — around $2 a yard for quality quilting fabric). When you do find them, they’re expensive. So they are a real treat to myself when I do break down and buy one (the last being a beautiful dark green leaf print by Princess Mirah Design at about $18 a yard).

I’m thinking of trying my hand at fabric dyeing. If anyone reading this has done fabric dyeing and has some hints for me, I’d appreciate hearing them! Any good books on the subject, what kinds of fabric dyes to buy, etc. Actually I don’t even know if I can get anything besides Rit dye down here! But hey, you do the best with what you have to work with, right?

-Raven

2 responses to this post.

  1. You can find some tricks on our site 🙂 Try to use Google Translate..

  2. Thank you! If only I had kept up that Russian class in college… I’ll try the Google translation thing. The photos look great, and I can probably find those materials here without a problem. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

